You'll find more news below...

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

A former Frontier League batting champion is fans’ pick as the top second baseman in Rockford RiverHawks history

FROM PRESS RELEASE - LOVES PARK, Ill. – A former Frontier League batting champion is fans' pick as the top second baseman in Rockford RiverHawks history.

The RiverHawks announced Tuesday that Joe Anthonsen is the second baseman on the All-Time RiverHawks Team, presented by Lou Bachrodt Chevrolet and The Hemmens Cultural Center. More than 2,000 votes were cast at the team website,

In celebration of its 10th season, the RiverHawks are offering fans the chance to decide who is the greatest player in team history at each position, from starting pitcher to shortstop to outfield.

In voting at second base, Anthonsen took an overwhelming 95 percent of the vote, by far the largest percentage so far on the team. Anthonsen earned 2,226 of 2,351 votes cast. Jake Eigsti drew 51 votes, Doug Sanders 49,Kiley Vaughn 18 and Shaff Elkouri seven.

Anthonsen hit .352 with a team-record 135 hits to win the 2008 Frontier League batting title. The leadoff hitter also scored a team-record 79 times that year. In the team's all-time records book, Anthonsen in third in runs (170) and steals (67) and fourth in hits (309). In 2007, Anthonsen's .974 fielding percentage led league second basemen.

Voting will switch to a new position approximately every 7-10 days. Winners will be announced at the end of each voting period and all will be acknowledged at a game this summer with an all-time RiverHawks poster, co-sponsored by Lou Bachrodt Chevrolet and The Hemmens, to be given out at a game to be announced.

The Hemmens Cultural Center is located in downtown Elgin. From contemporary music and theatre to shows for the whole family, The Hemmens features popular acts in an intimate setting.

Lou Bachrodt Chevrolet of Rockford is Winnebago's County's premier Chevy dealer. Lou Bachrodt is located near Cherryvale Mall, just minutes from the stadium.

More than 200,000 votes have already been cast in the promotion. Other players already voted onto the all-time team include shortstop Jono Brooks, third baseman Ben Fjelland and outfielders Richard Austin, Jason James and Tony Pigott.

Opening Night for the RiverHawks' 10th season is 7:05 p.m. Friday, May 20, when they host Traverse City. Advertising and ticket information is available by calling (815) 885-2255. Fans can also

Rockford's Sports News Leaders...

The Rock River Times » Sports

WIFR - Sports Headlines - Sports

WREX - 13 Sports Headlines

Stateline Sports Hub – WROK 1440

Rockford Aviators - Press Releases

Rockford Speedway

IceHogs News

Beloit Daily News Sports